Wanted: a better C++ book

Standard

I first taught myself C++ back in 1993 – using Borland’s Turbo C++: a great product I had lots of fun with.

Photo of Bjarne Stroustrup, creator of the pro...

Photo of Bjarne Stroustrup, creator of the programming language C++. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

After that I moved on Microsoft’s Visual C++ (it was their unilateral cancellation of my subscription that marked a key stage in my disillusionment with Redmond).

In those days C++ was simple – people talked about templates and namespaces but nobody actually used them.

So, when in 2009/10 when I was being taught C++ at Birkbeck I didn’t really pay enough attention – I thought I knew the language but I didn’t.

After that course was over I made a real effort to teach myself C++ properly and wrote some not too bad code. But then Groovy came along and nobody was much interested in my VMUFAT file driver for the Linux kernel and so both C++ and C got neglected.

Now C is like bike riding – if you haven’t done it for a while you are a bit unsteady at first but soon get the hang of it. But C++ is different and now I back to writing in both idioms I miss having a good C++ guide book.

I do have C++: The Complete Reference (4th Edition) but, in my view, this is one of the worst computer books ever written – as it simply reads like a book about C with some bolt-ons.

I also have Computing Concepts with C++ Essentials: but it’s a book about how to program, not a good reference.

What I want is something that tells me how to do things and use things without either drowning me in formal references or treating me like a newcomer.

What is the best option – is The C++ Programming Language still the best? I used to have a copy of that from 20 years ago (perhaps I still have it somewhere in the house) and it was quite good but obviously that edition has long since been superseded.

Any recommendations gratefully received in the comments.

Enhanced by Zemanta

3 thoughts on “Wanted: a better C++ book

  1. The current (4th) edition of C++PL is a good heavy-duty reference book, but wouldn’t be a good choice to learn the language. For a good comprehensive C++ tutorial, the best current choice is probably “C++ Primer” (5th ed) by Lippman, Lajoie, and Moo. (Definitely not to be confused with the similarly titled “C++ Primer Plus”, a very different and vastly inferior book.)

    You might be better off, though, with Stroustrup’s “A Tour of C++”. This is a short, very dense book; it’s definitely not for beginners, but I would recommend it as a good crash course in C++ for someone who is already an experienced programmer in other languages but new (or just rusty) in C++.

    For a reference (rather than learning) resource, besides C++PL 4E, I’d also recommend “The C++ Standard Library” (2nd ed) by Josuttis.

Comments are closed.