Twenty years of Windows NT

Windows NT 3.1
Windows NT 3.1 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today is the twentieth anniversary of the launch of Windows NT. In fact I have been using it (I still have to – in the sense that Windows XP/7/8 are NT – on occasion) for a bit longer than that as I was a member of the NT beta programme – I even managed to write some software for it using the 32 bit SDK before it was officially released (a not very good version of exie-ohsies/naughts-and-crosses/tic-tac-toe – so poor was the coding that you could beat the computer every time if you knew its weakness).

NT would not run on my Amstrad 386 and in the end I bought a cheap 486 machine to match the software – it was a lot of fun in the early days – though I shudder to think of trying to get by, day by day, on a machine with such a weak command line.

One thing I remember was the late, great, Byte magazine running an issue in the summer of 1992 predicting that NT would be the death of Unix. I even thought that was right – Unix was for expensive workstations and now us users of commodity hardware were to get a proper multi-tasking 32 bit operating system – who needed time-sharing when we could all have PCs of our own?

One thought on “Twenty years of Windows NT

  1. I think NT was Microsoft’s attempt to compete with Unix. Early on they matched Unix’s (then) slow boot times; matching Unix’s level of security has proven more elusive.

Comments are closed.