A moment reached

Dougal and the Blue Cat
Dougal and the Blue Cat (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have just submitted my “qualifying dissertation” to the University of York.

Latterly I have been thinking of my PhD studies in terms of the film Dougal and the Blue Cat – I grew up at a bad time (the virtual collapse of cinema going in the 60s and 70s) and a bad place (in a civil war of varying intensity) and this was one of the few films I saw in my childhood (pre-13) in the cinema and it did have a profound impact!

In the film the Blue Cat has to undergo several trials on his route to kingship, rising in rank as he goes. I have just made my bid for the MSc stage (if the University fail me they may recommend I write up the literature review for a standard MSc). Next would come an MSc by Research, then an MPhil, then a PhD.

I don’t want any of them – except the last one of course – but it’s a decent guide to the amount of effort required, so this feels like a real milestone.

But it’s also the easiest part – I have to (assuming my dissertation is passed – my viva is in September) actually do some research and experimentation now!