Something I didn’t know before now

Look for this logo when considering your new r...
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I suppose I first noticed those “Energy Star” logos on computer equipment about a decade or so ago – but I did not realise until now that Energy Star is in fact a US government programme – as opposed to just a piece of marketing by the hardware companies themselves. We really do not expect such things from the US!

Energy Star also, I discovered, say that data centres account for 1.5% of US electricity consumption and that the volume (not necessarily the proportion) of demand will double every five years or so. I do not see how that – unless it is replacing something else (lights in shops on Main Street?) – could possibly be sustainable, certainly not without massive investment in renewables and nuclear: shale gas might be cheap but it is far from CO2 neutral.