This cannot be good news for Last.fm

Standard
Image representing Last.fm as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

Just logged in to Last.fm to be told that I’d have to pay a subscription for a desktop client from next Tuesday and if I lived in most countries in the world I wouldn’t be able to listen full stop.

Now I generally listen to Last.fm via the website so I am not likely to be affected while in the UK (it seems years since I was able to use that on a trip abroad without paying a subscription).

But the European Union is failing to implement its “great freedoms” if it is impossible to organise a business like Last.fm on a pan-European basis. In recent years the EU has seemed more concerned about stealing from the commons than protecting consumers rights in what too many call “intellectual property” (how can anyone own an idea? Are we not supposed to regard Prometheus as a hero, or is he just a pirate these days?).