Missing coding

English: Programmer
English: Programmer (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ever been engaged in an intellectual activity where the hours whizz by much faster than you think, as you puzzle over and round the issues while feeling an intense pleasure that makes the rest of the world seem less important?  This what is called “flow” and, generally, it is what I feel when I am coding.

I am not the world’s greatest coder, to be honest I am little better than average (though doing the MSc at Birkbeck made me so much better than I used to be). The pleasure doesn’t come from having a natural skill that means I can write hundreds of lines at a single sitting: like a typical programmer, if I got 20 fully debugged lines out a day, every day, I would count that as decent performance.

But lately I haven’t done any coding at all (apart from a few lines of scripting in the office to ensure SMB mounts are automatic and such like). Instead I have read a lot of computer science papers and spent a lot of time working on a presentation I need to make and a literature review that will come after.

But I miss the coding, and I am missing it more every day.

Now, coding is also very more-ish. If you code to scratch an itch then chances are you make yourself itchy by coding. So earlier this year I wrote a Groovy/Java hex editor – Hexxed – after I wrote a Linux filesystem where I could not find a hex editor that did what I wanted to do, and so on.

So, even as I puzzle about whether I should write some code just for the sake of a mental stretch, I also wonder what I would write.

One thought on “Missing coding

  1. I’m undoubtedly a less gifted coder than you (witness the workout I’ve given Google in the past few days with “how do I do ___ in Java?”), but I very much know the feeling you describe. At the moment, the “what to code” question is easy; I’m coding for a research project. At other times, I find myself pondering what would make a good open source project … then realizing I’m about to bite off more than I have time to chew, and shelving the thought for another day.

Comments are closed.