Leaving wordpress.com?

WordPress
WordPress (Photo credit: Adriano Gasparri)

I first had a blog when they were still called “web logs” (yes, kids, that’s where it comes from) – I never thought it would take off, though I also thought it was one of those ideas (like intranets – remember them?) that were so beautifully simple that I wish I had thought of it. So, what do I know anyway?

I used to host my own (WordPress) blog and I am wondering if I should do that again. It’s not that I dislike wordpress.com, but it’s a pain not being able to post any Javascript or similar material. The disadvantage, of course is the cost (hosting – I used to host the blog on a machine at home but that’s just too extra as my kids would say – or did, I think this this term is already out of fashion) and the hassle of upgrades (though if I set the permissions right that should go away).

Any thoughts, any one?

3 thoughts on “Leaving wordpress.com?

  1. Is the issue an inability to customize the blog with (executable) Javascript, or a problem publishing code listings (because WP filters them)?

    1. I don’t really have any problem with the code listings, though I know support is better on a self-hosted blog. The Javascript thing is simply the best example of the restrictions you face if you go down the wordpress.com route. On the other hand it is substantially less troublesome than doing this yourself – especially if you worry about zero-day exploits – at least if you work on the presumption that WordPress lock their servers down tight and will be the first to patch their own blogging code🙂
      I miss the freedom of being able to experiment that you get with a self-hosted blog too. And I’m always interested in visitor statistics and WordPress’s own service is very limited.
      I suspect I won’t act on this for a while, but I can see it is the direction I a moving/going back to.

      1. You could explore other hosted options, if you’re willing to put in the effort transplanting the old posts (which might not be as simple as export/import). Blogger provides some ability to customize HTML and CSS, although they are finicky about some things (cross-site scripting, I think). My blog is hosted there, and with a little chicanery I’ve been able to add MathJax support and another tweak or two. I get visitor stats automatically, and it now has a feature that automatically prepares a Google Plus post (if you are on G+) for each new blog entry.

Comments are closed.