Working on filesystem code

English: A North American Sega Dreamcast VMU, ...
Image via Wikipedia

Nearly a decade ago I wrote a crude, but working, filesystem for the Sega Dreamcast VMU on Linux. I then put ported a very simple web server to the Dreamcast and got the whole thing on Slashdot.

I never managed to get the thing into mainline – indeed the battering I got last time I tried, in 2009, more or less made me give up writing anything for the kernel and the Dreamcast was put away.

I am not pretending my code was pretty or even particularly good but it is no wonder people get put off from contributing when you get pig ignorant comments like these:

Everything about the on-disk format is tied to the VMU. Until that sinks in, don’t bother sending me email, thanks.

This was someone, who ought to have known better, claiming that it was not possible to have a free standing filesystem for this at all – though they were making their, incorrect, claim in the manner seen all too frequently on the Linux Kernel Mailing List.

No comments.  Really.  There must be some limits on the language one is willing to use on public maillist, after all.

As you can tell this person – a top flight Linux hacker – did not like my code. And, looking back, I can hardly blame him, it was pretty ugly. But as a help to fix it this is of next to no use – and only serves to demotivate. Nasty computer scientists, again.

Ok, so I have got that off my chest. And I am once more placing myself in the firing line.

The filesystem code, a work in progress (so check where the code has got to once you click the link), can be found here. A filesystem that you should be able to mount under loopback, can be found here. All testers welcomed with open arms.