Is the time pages are in the working set stochastic?

Standard

Reading about the Monte Carlo method has set me thinking about this and how, if at all, it might be applied to page reclaim in the Linux kernel.

In my MSc report I show that my results show that working set size is not normally distributed – despite occasional claims to the contrary in computer science text books. But it is possible that a series of normal distributions are overlaid – see the graphic below:

Working set size for MySQL daemonThe first question is: how do I design an experiment to verify that these are, indeed a series of normal distributions?

(I may find out how I have done in the degree in the next week or so – wish me luck)

2 thoughts on “Is the time pages are in the working set stochastic?

  1. Pingback: The binomial distribution, part 1 « cartesian product

  2. Pingback: Working set heuristics and the Linux kernel: my MSc report | cartesian product

Comments are closed.