2012: the year of the death of the desktop?

Standard
The first developers of IBM PC computers negle...

Image via Wikipedia

The BBC has an interesting article about the decline of sales of PCs (by which I think they mean “IBM compatibles” as opposed to personal computers in general), including the decline of enthusiast computer building.

Two reasons are given – the slow down in production of games for PCs – that seems to be a major factor in the enthusiast end of the market – and, more importantly, the rise of the tablet.

Now, I understand why people like tablet devices and I think they are good. But they are also hideously underpowered – I find this a constant frustration in business when working with people who are relying on tablet devices, as they (the devices) cannot handle various file formats or tasks.

2 thoughts on “2012: the year of the death of the desktop?

  1. “The report of my death was an exaggeration.” (Mark Twain)

    I have an Android tablet. In fact, I’m on it now. I love the portability. It’s good for many online tasks; but constructing a slide show on it, even if I had the right software, would redefine the phrase ”cold day in He’ll”

    • I completely agree. Incidentally, what Android tablet are you using? My employers have indicated they are willing to fund me buying a tablet and I’d like to consider something other than an iPad – I have an Android smart phone but its far too small and fiddly to be an alternative, though can be handy on the road.

Comments are closed.