Upgrading to Ubuntu 11.10 and getting rid of “Unity”

Standard

I have now upgraded the laptop on which this is being typed to Ubuntu 11.10 and there were a few problems and issues:

  • The upgrade killed the wireless connection and then failed (late on) because it could not download the Adobe Flash installer – but it was late enough in the upgrade process to allow me to boot into 11.10 and then complete anything that needed doing with sudo aptitude dist-upgrade
  • You are forced to use the abomination that is “Unity” – still looks and feels like something a five-year-old would have designed. It’s a disgusting waste of time. You can probably tell I don’t like it. So get rid of it with sudo aptitude install gnome-panel
  • Before I got to that point it tried to boot into something called “Ubuntu 3D” – which is something to do with the ludicrous Unity. It failed (this is running dual head) telling me I was exceeding the 3D capacity of my video card (at least that’s what I think it was trying to tell me) and then went into “Ubuntu 2D” – which worked reasonably well.

The issue I had with the desktop background disappearing when going dual head has gone, though Gnome panel handled the dual head properly while Unity 2D still had “issues”.

But, overall, it seems to have gone well enough. At least once I got rid of Unity. Have I told I don’t like it?

16 thoughts on “Upgrading to Ubuntu 11.10 and getting rid of “Unity”

  1. Pingback: Lançado o Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Oncelot « Carl Roberson's

  2. Pingback: Lançado o Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot « Carl Roberson's

  3. I too am using a dual-head setup and find Unity both useless and distasteful. It kills me that all the useful stuff I normally have in my panel is just gone, with no apparent way to bring it back or replace it with something similar. Thanks for the quick pointer for getting back to “normal”.

  4. I was told the new Unity would be much better. But it’s still a click-a-thon to find the things I use all the time and that icon bar on the left of the screen drives me nuts. It puts my USB drives beyond the bottom of the screen on the icon bar….and you can’t just drag them to where you want them.

    In short: Unity sucks arse.

    Thanks for your post.

  5. Here is the troublesome part, when you see a project do something this blatantly bad, you almost have to jump ship and find a new distribution before the next release. Bye Ubuntu, it’s been a good ride.

    • I totally agree, JoePete. I loved the commandable and DELETABLE Taskbars that Ubuntu used to have. Now when I run Docky, I have a bottom task bar I simply can’t get rid of. I used the Mac4Lin setup before in 11.04, and in previous Ubuntu, but it seems to me that they are giving us open-sourcers the shaft, and LESS choice in their own self interests. I guess it’s now either Mac or Windows. As for me, I’ll be leaving to get a Mac. I guess it’s goodbye from me, too!

  6. Thanks for the wonderful news. I was worried they were going to foist that stinking Unity on us for real this time.

  7. Pingback: Ubuntu annoyances and some fixes | cartesian product

  8. Unity is why I still run lucid. I just tried Oneric on a VM to see whether it’s gotten any better. In fact, it’s gotten a lot worse. Much harder to get rid off, much harder to access useful tools (like a real package manager like synaptic). Too bad. I had hopes for Ubuntu. From now on it’s Mint, ZenWalk and Fedora.

  9. Thanks for the mini-tutorial! Had never had the Unity experience until a few days ago, glad you could bail me out of that debacle…

Comments are closed.