Why do people hate Apple redux

Standard
Image representing Apple as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

The Guardian has an interesting piece called “why do people hate Apple“, which makes some telling points but I do not think really gets there.

I suppose I should begin by saying I don’t “hate Apple” – in fact I think their products are quite nice if hideously over-priced. But I do have a bit of contempt, I must admit, for those people who tell me they like Apple because “it’s so easy” – somewhat like the fashion, sadly continuing, of boasting by arts and humanities graduates of how little they know of maths or science (scientists do not do the same back).

Apple is “easy” because you are restricted to buying their over-priced hardware, it is as simple as that. If they control the hardware they control the drivers and so you have to do what they say.

OK, you may feel that the time it would take you to learn how to install your own hardware is worth every penny. But your lack of knowledge is hardly something to boast of as though you were superior to those of us who do know how to do it, is it?

(Though the problems people sometimes have with hardware on their Windows machine is because of the broken business model that too many hardware manufacturers operate under. The real choices are – grip the operating system and the hardware so the two move in absolute tandem, as with Apple – or free the hardware specification so that FOSS drivers appear, for free. Being a hardware manufacturer but being forced to chase after Microsoft’s Windows ABI is surely the worst of both worlds. On this point I do think Eric S. Raymond is right.)