Holiday all but over

London by SPOT Satellite
Image via Wikipedia

So, back to work tomorrow.

Been back in London for 24 hours now, having returned to make sure we were here for the eldest’s GCSE results. Turned out to be un-needed as she sailed through them (not that I ever doubted it): even getting a B grade in an exam – Chemistry – she was convinced she’d failed.

I have made a lot of progress with the MSc project report (at least in my mental map of what it will look like when completed), so that is good too. Lost just over a day in a panic about s0ome results I had which seemed to cast doubt on the correctness of the software I had written – essentially it looked as though it was not plotting a substantial part of the memory accesses of programs under test, until I realised it was all correct and I had just set some of the graph parameters badly: this late the day I do not quite know what I would have done it had indeed been all wrong.

The MSc cast a bit of a pall on the holiday (for me – the rest of the family enjoyed themselves without a problem) – but now I am making progress with the write-up that seems not so bad.

The single moment highlight? Getting to see M13 on a dark clear night (Saturday?) – the air was still enough that individual stars seemed were visible (though the ripples in the air could also be seen). I know it is a bit of a cliche as these things go, but it is still magnificent.

Same night I also used the “goto” technology on the mount to pick up M5 – which (unlike M13) I had never seen before.