Looks like a great book

Standard
Relational model Data items organized as a set...

Image via Wikipedia

My copy of C. J. Date‘s SQL and Relational Theory: How to Write Accurate SQL Code turned up today – I have only read one chapter so far but already I have a feeling that it is going to have been worth every penny.

Date is concerned not to write another SQL primer but to give those with some SQL experience a good grounding in the relational model and the set theory on which it is based. It just feels more like a proper scientific/mathematical text book and it also seems to be well written.

Very pleased with the purchase and will keep you all posted on how it goes: at the moment I am just wishing I had bought it months ago.

One thought on “Looks like a great book

  1. Pingback: Spangles Muldoon and the micro revolution | cartesian product

Comments are closed.