Bought on a whim but seems like a good one

This diagram shows the syntactic entities whic...
Image via Wikipedia

I bought this book this evening on the way home from work – The Annotated Turing – and have already got through fifty pages.

(Actually I wish I had bought it from Amazon because the price there is less than half I paid for it).

Those pages covered much of the same ground as the early chapters of  Godel, Escher, Bach: An Eternal Golden Braid - a much more famous book (and not a bad read) -  and in a more formal, mathematical way, but it also seems to do it in a much clearer fashion.

So, while I haven’t yet got to the chapters that dissect Turing’s On Computable Numbers, with an Application to the Entscheidungsproblem, so far I have no hesitation in recommending it as a good introduction to the issues of computability.

3 thoughts on “Bought on a whim but seems like a good one”

Comments are closed.